top of page

Ethan Hein

There was a lot of hype coming into the Ethan Hein week. Some of us had already had a lecture with him about hip hop music and its inseparability with African American culture. That left me completely reeling, and I still don't think I have recovered yet.


In tech though, as a certified Ableton god, Ethan went through some techniques which would up our game to the next level.


He talked about vocoder effects and how you can alter an audio clip to give it that extra robotic/sci-fi feeling through pre-set or or the vanilla vocoder effect.


This is one of my favourite examples of a vocoder/harmonizer effect.


Ethan also dropped some philosophy on electronic music vs. acoustic music about the use of absolute silence. In most acoustic settings, absolute silence is not possible and undesirable but when you're making stuff in Ableton or Logic, this is not only possible but throws a spanner in the works, a twist which can be exploited to create something new. Who was it, Debussy who said music being the silence between notes? Our ears conditioned to hear patterns of sounds, and when those patterns are broken with absolute silence, you can get really interesting effects

This guy gets it:


Just wanted to end on something about his hip-hop lecture and comments about the winning film at the Sydney Film Festival: thanks for pointing out new ways to view products of culture. I am still trying to understand systemic and institutionalised racism, and catch myself being a product of that system.


Recent Posts

See All

Goodbye for now.

I have maybe 2 things to say? A final review of this blog: Good when analytics aren't involved. Reflection is good (though I have reservations about keeping things private - sometimes found myself bac

Perfectionism and Procrastination

Big PP energy. Perfectionism and procrastination don't seem to go hand in hand. But they do, I'll tell you about it tomorrow. I'll be honest. It is 12:25am 23rd June right now. So technically I think

Australia and Musician?

Auralia and Musition* Dad works in student admin at UTS right? And during this whole COVID thing, unis have had to adapt their examination processes, mostly to computer exams or open book etc. Some ha

bottom of page